Crafting an Effective Writer

coursera

After more than a year of taking online courses on Coursera (https://www.coursera.org/β€Ž), mostly in the Natural Sciences sector, I enrolled in a new course on Writing, named “Creating an Effective Writer”. It is one of the most perfectly structured courses I have been enrolled in, so far.

It is week 2 now, and I love all the lectures and exercises accompanying them. As a person who speaks English as a second language, who has never lived in an English speaking country and truly wants to learn the language in depth, this is the perfect course for me. Of course, many native speakers are taking the course, as they want to improve their writing abilities as well.

This weeks assignment was so fun! Developing a simple sentence into a short story. At least, that is what I did after writing more than the 12 unique words required to fulfill the assignment. πŸ™‚

crafting an effective writer 2

The short sentences were very simple “The children play” , “The women walk”, “The flowers bloom”.Β There are so many adjectives and adverbs and phrases to add to this and build up the story with your imagination.

I really love the course and had to share the excitement πŸ™‚

6 thoughts on “Crafting an Effective Writer

    1. Hey! Thanks for commenting and liking my blog! I actually understand some, as I have lived in Slovakia for a year, and it is similar to Slovak language πŸ™‚ I really love the course, I hope you’ll have much success at it and learn and have fun as well!

    1. Yes, it was very well written. A perfect introduction to an online course. As I’ve said, I have been taking online courses at Coursera for quite some time, and this one is, by far, the best written, greatly explained and it seems natural for the student to go through the lectures, modules and than to the quizzes and assignments.
      Thanks for the comment and wish you success in becoming a writer! πŸ™‚

  1. This is my first Coursera course. So far I am enjoying the ride. It has been many years since I took grammar. Goes back to elementary and high school. English is my first language but having said that it is nice to have reminders as to what the parts of speech are. We use them without much thought and consequently make errors. I am a writer and researcher and love the written word and hope to learn a lot from this course. I have also started a blog. This also is a new concept for me. Your blog is very user friendly and hopefully mine will be also. I still have a long way to go on the learning curve of blogs but will plod along and see where it takes me. The technical part is a challenge. I guess it is a generation thing. I will continue to look at your blog and when I am ready I hope you will look at mine and give me some input.

    1. Hey Stephanie! Thanks for the comment and enjoying my blog.
      I am sure that yours will be better, as you are a writer and English is your first language πŸ™‚
      I will be looking forward to read more from you and I wish you great success on the course! Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

