It’s Dostoyevsky Birthday!

For my favorite authors of all time, I share few quotes of my favorite book of all time Crime and Punishment (as if I didn’t scared you enough with my favorite author being Dostoyevsky, I’m telling you my favorite, read-once-a-year book being Crime and Punishment…well…it’s true!) After reading these few quotes I hope you’ll grab a copy of the book and read it through all of it yourself. Don’t let the number of pages scare you!

I will even give you a link from where you can download the book for free! Just read it!!!  http://www.gutenberg.org/ebooks/2554

Few lines of the book:

“It takes something more than intelligence to act intelligently.” 

“Don’t be overwise; fling yourself straight into life, without deliberation; don’t be afraid – the flood will bear you to the bank and set you safe on your feet again.” 

“I Love it when people lie! Lying is only mans privilege over all other organisms. Lying is what makes me a man”

“What do you think?” shouted Razumikhin, louder than ever, “you think I am attacking them for talking nonsense? Not a bit! I like them to talk nonsense. That’s man’s one privilege over all creation. Through error you come to the truth! I am a man because I err! You never reach any truth without making fourteen mistakes and very likely a hundred and fourteen. And a fine thing, too, in its way; but we can’t even make mistakes on our own account! Talk nonsense, but talk your own nonsense, and I’ll kiss you for it. To go wrong in one’s own way is better than to go right in someone else’s. In the first case you are a man, in the second you’re no better than a bird. Truth won’t escape you, but life can be cramped.”

Seven years, only seven years! At the beginning of their happiness at some moments they were both ready to look on those seven years as though they were seven days. He did not know that the new life would not be given him for nothing, that he would have to pay dearly for it, that it would cost him great striving, great suffering. But that is the beginning of a new story – the story of the gradual renewal of a man, the story of his gradual regeneration, of his passing from one world into another, of his initiation into a new unknown life. That might be the subject of a new story, but our present story is ended.

“Only to live, to live and live! Life, whatever it may be!” 

Read it and think about it…than read it again 🙂 Happy Birthday Fyodor!

dostoevsky-andrey-volkov

Picture taken from: http://sheepnoir.files.wordpress.com/2011/05/dostoevsky-andrey-volkov.jpg

2 thoughts on “It’s Dostoyevsky Birthday!

  1. Same interest again! But with that little difference that my favorite book of Dostoyevsky are “Demons” (sounds really scary 🙂 right?) Thank you for mentioning his Birthday. Best greeting! Aga

  2. He really should be read more by people from all over the world. And, again, books with many pages should not be considered “scary”. I haven’t read “Demons”, I’m googling it now, so that I can find the book and read it ASAP 🙂 Thanks for the comment and the book recommendation! Oh, and congrats on the certificate! Good job my friend!

Leave a Reply

